Labelled as ‘Unsend’, the new feature will allow users to delete a text within 10 minutes of the original message being sent. Facebook will retain a copy of the unsent message for a short duration to ensure the message did not violate any policy standards and thus prevent harassers from covering their tracks.
In order to use the latest feature, you’ll have to long press a message or media inside a thread or a group upon which you’ll be greeted with options like Copy, Remove, Forward and Translate. Choosing the remove option will display an additional prompt asking if you want the message to be removed for yourself or for everyone.
Upon selecting the option that deletes the message for everyone, Facebook will remind you that “you’ll permanently remove this message for all chat members. They can see you removed a message and still report”. After deleting a message, the thread will indicate that the message was removed.
TechCrunch reports that Facebook’s plans don’t stop there. The social media giant is planning to add more unsent-like features where users will be able to specify an expiration date for a message. Facebook’s Unsend feature will be available across limited regions which include Bolivia, Colombia, Lithuania and Poland and will be available in the Messenger app on both iOS and Android devices.