A weird bug has hit WhatsApp that is allowing blocked users to send messages and view profiles. Multiple users have taken the internet by storm complaining about blocked parties are now able to see user’s profile, status and more.
The bug was first reported by WABetaInfo. The tipster, in a series of tweets, reveals the issue might be a server-side bug that is causing this whole fiasco. “It looks blocked contacts might sometimes be able to see your profile picture and last seen. It really seems a server-side bug.I recommend you to remove the blocked contact from your Address Book, to configure Privacy Settings on “My Contacts” and mute the blocked contact’s chat,” the tweet reads.
WhatsApp has acknowledged this bug and it has promised that roll out a fix for it. However, the company has revealed any timeframe for the same. It could also be possible that the brand might fix this from the server side without even rolling out an update for the same.
But at the time of writing, there is no workaround to block the users. One could delete the number of the blocked user and restrict the privacy settings to ‘My Contacts’if they want to hide their details from that user. Otherwise, you might have to wait till the time WhatsApp rolls out a fix.