Advertisement

WhatsApp working on Suspicious Link Detection to detect spams: Report

By: Rohan Pal, The Mobile Indian, New Delhi Last updated : July 09, 2018 2:42 pm

the new feature will restrict the spam circulation by scanning the links that are being sent or received by the users. The working is pretty simple. Whenever you will receive a link, WhatsApp will scan the link to detect if it genuine or fake. When the link is suspicious, it will notify the user with a red label.
Advertisement

WhatsApp is reportedly working on a feature that will limit spam circulation on the messaging app. Dubbed as Suspicious Link Detection feature, it is presently said to be under testing on Android with version number 2.18.206.

 

According to a report by WABetainfo, the new feature will restrict the spam circulation by scanning the links that are being sent or received by the users. The working is pretty simple. Whenever you will receive a link, WhatsApp will scan the link to detect if it genuine or fake. When the link is suspicious, it will notify the user with a red label.

 

Further, if a user decides to open the link, WhatsApp will alert him/her again about the suspicious link that reads, “This link contains unusual characters. It may be trying to appear as another site.” The report highlights that WhatsApp will analyse the link locally and not data will be sent to WhatsApp servers in order to detect the suspicious link. The feature will surely help users to avoid spam links that are forwarded every day in groups and to normal chats in plain sight. This will give users much more power to know whether the link is good or spam for them.

 

Advertisement

Previously, WhatsApp announced a new feature that will allow the group administrators to restrict participants from sending messages to the group. The new feature is known as Send Messages and it is rolling out to Android, iOS and Windows Phone users across the globe.

 

There will be a menu option of Send Messages under the Group Settings, which has two options: ‘Only Admins’ and ‘All Participants’. When you click on the former, then the participants will not be able to send messages, photos, video etc to the group. WhatsApp will inform all the participants present in the group about the change in settings.

You might like this

Loading...

 

0 Comments

Login with

Mobile Finder