• 15:19 Oct 15, 2019

Advertisement

Google rolls out Incognito mode for Maps, Auto-delete for YouTube and more

By: The Mobile Indian network, New Delhi Last updated : October 03, 2019 3:26 pm

Google has announced new updates across its products, including Maps, YouTube and the Assistant.
Advertisement

Google has announced new updates across its products, including Maps, YouTube and the Assistant. The latest updates enable users to more easily access privacy controls, it introduces using Google apps in incognito mode and provides options to automatically delete Location History, searches, and voice recordings.

Incognito mode arrives in Maps

 

Incognito mode in Maps

 

Advertisement


Google has announced the roll-out of Incognito mode in Google Maps. By turning on this mode, Maps will not save a users’ activity (such as the places they search for, location etc.) and won’t be used to personalize their Maps experience. Turning on Incognito mode is simple and can be turned off at any time to get restaurant recommendations, information about their commute and other features tailored to users’ activity. Incognito mode will start rolling out on Android in the coming weeks, with iOS coming soon.

 

Expanding Auto-delete to YouTube

Google has extended its auto-delete feature to YouTube history. Now users can schedule the deletion of their YouTube history for time periods of 3 or 18 months just like Location History and Web and App Activity. Google will automatically delete YouTube search history as per the user's choice.

Auto-delete in YouTube History



Control your privacy with your voice in the Assistant

Google has added new ways for users to understand and manage their data in the Assistant, quickly. Users can now learn more about what Google is doing to keep their data private and secure by simply asking the Assistant,  “Hey Google, how do you keep my data safe?”

 

Google is also making it easier for users to control their privacy settings with simple voice commands. In the coming weeks, users will be able to delete data from their account just by saying things like “Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you” or “Hey Google, delete everything I said to you last week.”

 

Privacy actions in the AssistantAlso, the user doesn’t need to turn on any of these features as they will work automatically. If a user asks to delete more than a week's worth of data from their account, the Assistant will point the user directly to the page in their account settings to complete the deletion. Google will be rolling this out in English in the coming weeks and in other languages next month.


Strengthening the Password Manager

The Google password manager helps users save passwords across different accounts. Google is now introducing the Password Checkup, a new tool that tells users if any of their passwords are weak, whether you’ve reused them across multiple sites, or have been exposed in a third-party breach. 

You might like this

Tags: Google Google Maps Google Assistant YouTube

You might like this

Matched Content

 

0 Comments

Login with